So... yeah... Gnocchi is not an easy thing to make. I don't know exactly where I went wrong, but I went wrong waaay wrong.
After watching a few videos on youtube and foodnetwork.com I think I know what I did wrong.
1) Potato was mashed incorrectly. I should have pushed it through a mesh strainer or potato ricer, instead of simply mashing them.
2) I put the gentle little babies into water at a rolling boil...when it should've been a gentle simmer.
3) The recipe I had told me to boil for too long. So when the gnocchi started floating (meaning they're done and ready to be pulled out of hot water) I let them go for a few more minutes.
4) Not enough egg. I thought it was strange to call for "3 tablespoons beaten egg"
I think #3 and #4 were the biggest mistakes. I'm sure there's probably a million other things I did wrong. I think I have a stray potato in my pantry so stay tuned for gnocchi nightmare #2.




